Now That’s What I Call Dystopia— Repeater


Installation / Tape / Zine / Pirate Radio Station / 2018
From Aras Eanna, Inis Oirr

Now That's What I Call Dystopia Vol. 1

This tape is comprised of recordings made collaboratively by members of the Repeater Collective in the Áras Éanna Arts Centre on the island of Inis Oirr in May 2018. It features field recordings made on the island as well as recordings created during music production and dj workshops with the amazing students of Scoil Gobnait. During this residency a zine was also compiled by the collective, comprised of images taken during the artist residency, images gathered from the local island library archive and pin-hole photographs captured and developed by students of Scoil Gobnait. This tape was first aired on local airwaves at 108 fm. This temporary pirate~radio station was dubbed by the collective as 'Radio Leictreamaighnéadach' for the duration of the residency. Using an onsite transmitter and antenna, Repeater Collective broadcast the tape recordings as well as other various studio performances as they took place between 24th - 27th May 2018.

Voted 96th best release of the year by The Quietus. (2018)

Collaboratively produced by Cliona Ni Laoi, Coilin O’Connell, Mel Keane (Melly), Michelle Doyle (Sissy), Dean McGrath (Lastminuteman), Jennifer Moore (Dream~cycles), Gareth Smyth (Lumigraph), Cait Fahey, Frank Sweeney (Sias), Dylan Kerr, Donal Talbot, Kevin Freeney, Eimear Walsh, David kitt, Rory Reilly and the students of Scoil Gobnait. This residency was facilitated by Drop Everything festival.